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AdWords automated rules / bidding scripts for better performance

AdWords_Tools_Rules

Here are automated rules (scripts) that we recommend to use for product campaigns by BlueWinston. These scripts can by used when you measure conversions and total transaction values in AdWords from connected Google Analytics account.  You can add these scripts here: Top menu > Tools > Rules. Usually there are all BlueWinston campaigns with prefix BW. If your BlueWinston campaigns have any other prefix, use it instead of BW.

1. Choose Tools > Bulk actions > Rules > Keyword rules

AdWords_Tools_Rules_Keyword_rules

2. Choose conditions for automatic rule

AdWords_Tools_Rules_Keyword_rules_conditions

 

For BlueWinston DSA campaigns choose AdGroups.

We recommend to use these automated rules

First group of scripts are for increasing bids for keywords:

BW | Increase KWs maxCPC by +30% (higher ROAS) – maxCPC 1.20 €
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “Conversions more than 0”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”  //it is the same value for any other currency
– filter “Average position is worse than 1”
– filter “All Conv. Value / Cost is more than 5” – see note below this rule
=> DAILY using data from previous day

For DSA campaigns use this automatic rule:

BW (DSA) | Increase AdGroups maxCPC by +30% (higher ROAS) – maxCPC 1.20 €
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW (DSA)”
– filter “Conversions more than 0”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Average position is worse than 1”
– filter “All Conv. Value / Cost is more than 5” – see note below this rule
=> DAILY using data from previous day

This automatic rule increase maxCPC for keywords (AdGroups in DSA) that have higher ROAS. Metric ROAS is All conversion value / cost. If you have margin (maxCPA) 20%, your ROAS is 100/20 = 5, so you can see that ROAS value depends on your maxCPA. Keywords above this value are your best performing keywords. If you have maxCPA 10%, your ROAS is 10, for maxCPA 8% it is 12.5 etc.

For all keywords with status Below first page bid you can use these 2 automatic rules:

BW | Increase KWs maxCPC by +50% (Impresssions > 0, below first page) – maxCPC 1.20 €
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Status is below first page”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “Impressions more/equal 1”
– filter “Avg. position > than 1”
=> weekly using data from last 7 days

BW | Increase KWs maxCPC by +5% (Impressions = 0, below first page) – maxCPC 1.20 €
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Status is below first page”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “Impressions equal 0″
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

If any of your keywords have status Below first page bid, usually they are not shown on Google first page results. It is very important to slightly increase bids to achieve first page.

You can automatically increase bids for best quality score keywords by this rule:

BW | Increase KWs maxCPC by +10% (Quality Score 7-10/10) – maxCPC 1.20 €
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Average position is > than 1″
– filter “Status is Eligible”                   //only Eligible, do not choose Eligible:Limited or others
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “CTR is less than 5”
– filter “Quality Score is more/equal 7″
=> weekly using data from last 7 days

Quality score is evaluation from AdWords. The value consists of ad quality, CTR, keyword and landing page. Best keywords have quality score above 7.

When keywords (adgroups in DSA-P) have low impression share:

BW | Increase KWs maxCPC by +50% (Low Impression Share) – maxCPC 1.20 €
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Status is Eligible”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “Search Impr. Share less than 90%”
– filter “Average position > 1”
=> weekly using data from last 7 days

BW (DSA) | Increase AdGroups maxCPC by +50% (Low Impression Share) – maxCPC 1.20 €
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW (DSA)”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Status is Eligible”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “Search Impr. Share less than 90%”
– filter “Average position > 1”
=> weekly using data from last 7 days

To automatically increase budget of Campaigns if limited by budget

BW | Increase Campaign’s budget by +10% (Limited Status) max budget 100€  //set up your max budget in your currency
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “Status matches Limited by budget”
=> weekly using data from last 7 days

With this script you can automatically increase budget by +10% when your campaigns are limited by budget.

Also decreasing bids is very important. Here are most common cases when to decrease bids

BW | Decrease KWs maxCPC by -100% (low Quality Score 0-4/10)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “CTR is less than 3”
– filter “Clicks more/equal than 5”
– filter “Quality Score is less / equal than 4
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

This script is applicable only to product campaigns with keywords, not for DSA campaigns. Only keywords have Quality score, not AdGroups.

BW | Decrease KWs maxCPC by -100% (low CTR)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “Clicks more than 7”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01″
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Average position is < 3”
– filter “CTR is less than 2”
– filter “Status is eligible”
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

This rule can be modificated for DSA campaigns:

BW (DSA) | Decrease AdGroups maxCPC by -100% (low CTR)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW (DSA)”
– filter “Clicks more than 7”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “ default maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Average position is < 3”
– filter “CTR is less than 2”
– filter “Status is eligible”      //only Eligible, no other status
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

BW | Decrease KWs maxCPC by -100% (High Bounce Rate)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “Clicks more than 7”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “BounceRate is more than 89″
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

BW | Decrease AdGroups maxCPC by -100% (High Bounce Rate)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW (DSA)”
– filter “Clicks more than 7”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “BounceRate is more than 89″
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

BW | Decrease KWs maxCPC by -100% (too many clicks)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “Clicks more than 20”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

For BlueWinston DSA campaigns use this:

BW (DSA) | Decrease AdGroups maxCPC by -100% (too many clicks)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW (DSA)”
– filter “Clicks more than 20”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “ default maxCPC more than 0.01€”
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

For some keywords can be low ROAS. To decrease bids use this rule:

BW | Decrease KWs maxCPC by -20% (low ROAS)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “Conversions more than 0”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “All Conv. Value / Cost is less than 7”   //use value 7 if your maxCPA is 14%. For maxCPA 20% use value 5 etc.
=> weekly using data from last 7 days

There is also variant for DSA campaigns:

BW (DSA) | Decrease AdGroups maxCPC by -20% (low ROAS)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW (DSA)”
– filter “Conversions more than 0”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “All Conv. Value / Cost is less than 7”   //use value 7 if your maxCPA is 14%. For maxCPA 20% use value 5.
=> weekly using data from last 7 days

These automated rules (scripts) we recommend to use for all types of BlueWinston product campaigns. You can add them to AdWords account by yourself or ask us to add them.

By |2018-08-21T19:25:05+00:00November 20th, 2017|Categories: How To Create|Tags: , , , , |0 Comments
BlueWinston.com is an automated tool for creation of product text ads for Google Search. It is both an alternative and a must have addition to regular Google Shopping ads (Product Listing Ads, PLAs). Feed-driven product campaigns account for over 40% of the annual %CTR and displays in Google Search that lead to a successful transaction. Unique technology, innovative approach to keywords and ad creation for each product, group of products and their categories in the eshop, make this tool a number one in the global market. Today, BlueWinston is being used by hundreds of clients in over 50 countries (see testimonials from PPC specialists and merchants). Thanks to BlueWinston.com you do not only automate the creation of ads of your products, but you can also automate their optimization and management thanks to set of automated rules and bidding scripts applied in incredibly short time – every 6 hours!
  • boost sales up to +60%
  • increase ROAS up to +1500%
  • decrease CoS by -40%
  • create ads for all your products
  • automate creation & management

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